The Branch of the FSUE “GRFC” in the Urals Federal District is a unit of the Radio Frequency Service of the Russian Federation responsible for ensuring proper use of civilian radio frequencies and channels, radio electronic facilities and high-frequency devices (HFD)  in the territory of the Urals Federal District for the purposes of maintaining availability of radio frequency spectrum allocated to users and providing for electromagnetic compatibility of radio frequency equipment and high-frequency devices.

The Radio Frequency Service’s work is managed by the Federal Service for Supervision of Communications, Information Technology, and Mass Media (ROSKOMNADZOR).

The branch is headquartered in Yekaterinburg and has offices in the following regions of Federal District:

  • the Kurgan Region;
  • the Tyumen Region and the Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Okrug;
  • the Chelyabinsk Region; and
  • the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug – Yugra.


Sverdlovsk regional receiving radio station’s Management Order No. 21 of March 26, 1945 transformed the Broadcasting Stations’ Technical Monitoring Group into a Broadcasting Stations Technical Monitoring Facility, directly subordinated to the People’s Commissariat for Communications.

The facility was located in the village of Verkhnee Dubrovo, Sverdlovsk Region. Monitoring of the Sverdlovsk Radio Centre’s TV broadcasting and of telegraph transmitters’ frequency spacing was organized in 1954.

In 1959, the Broadcasting Stations Technical Monitoring Facility was renamed a Technical Radio Monitoring Facility; in 1960, it was renamed a Technical Radio Monitoring Station.

In October 1963, the Ministry of Communications passed a decision establishing the Sverdlovsk Technical Radio Monitoring Station as a stand-alone entity subordinated to the Sverdlovsk Regional Telecommunication Authority.

In the 1990s, a State Telecommunications Inspection (STI) was established in the Russian Federation to address regulation of the use of radio frequencies and radio electronic facilities (REF).

On 15 November 1993, the RF Council of Ministers passed Decree No. 1156, On Approval of Regulations for a Service for State Supervision of the Communications Sector in the Russian Federation, intended to enhance government regulation of the telecom sector. The STI was converted to a Service for State Supervision of the Communications Sector in the Russian Federation (GOSSVIAZNADZOR)

On 28 April 2000, the RF Government passed Decree No. 380, On Reorganizing the System of State Supervision of the Telecom and Information Technology Sector in the Russian Federation, converting the GOSSVIAZNADZOR into a System for Supervising the Telecom Sector and IT Development (ROSSVIAZNADZOR), to monitor and supervise the telecom and IT sectors.

On 25 December 2000, the RF Government passed Decree No. 1002, On a State Radio Frequency Service under the Russian Federation Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, creating a State Radio Frequency Service

The Government Decree defines the structure of the State Radio Frequency Service which comprises the General Radio Frequency Centre and seven radio frequency centres (RFC) for the Federal Districts of the Russian Federation:

  • the RFC for the Central Federal District (Moscow);
  • the RFC for the North-Western Federal District (St. Petersburg);
  • the RFC for the Southern Federal District (Rostov-on-Don);
  • the RFC for the Volga Federal District (Nizhny Novgorod);
  • the RFC for the Urals Federal District (Yekaterinburg);
  • the RFC for the Siberian Federal District (Novosibirsk); and
  • the RFC for the Far-Eastern Federal District (Khabarovsk).

On October 10, 2014, the Radio Frequency Centres of all the Federal Districts were reorganized as branches of Federal State Unitary Enterprise "Radio Frequency Centre of the Central Federal District". 

The Branch’s major performance indicators as of October 2018:

  • availability of allocated frequency resources provided to more than 240,000 civilian stations subject to registration;
  • more than 7,000 station parameter measurements performed monthly; 
  • over-the-air checks are performed by city monitoring stations covering more than 38,000 radio network stations and a radio monitoring station covering  more than 1,000 stations, with  about 4,000 violations of radio station registration and violation rules and regulations registered annually;  
  • some 400 interference complaints from civilian users are addressed annually. Warnings are issued to interferers, and if the infringements are not  eliminated, the interference reports are submitted to ROSKOMNADZOR.

Today, the Branch’s radio monitoring system comprises 62 fixed and 32 mobile monitoring facilities and 2 radar stations covering frequencies below 30 MHz and 46 radio monitoring posts covering frequencies above 30 MHz.

The Branch of  General Radio Frequency Centre in the Urals Federal District has modern  equipment and skilled specialists, so it provides high-quality services to spectrum users, helping them to reduce radio monitoring equipment costs, as well as specialist employment and training costs.